Daily Writing Progress, Week Five: Monday

Sheesh, maybe I should change it to weekly writing progress. 🙂  When the block hits, it hits hard! 🙂 I should at least be blogging, though.

We have been having a great time around here … lots of fun preschool activities, scented pumpkins, real pumpkins, and play-doh! And the leaves have been

falling in earnest.  We live right next to this lovely, tree-covered hill and there are thousands of delightful yellow leaves everywhere. Enough to rake up great, heaping piles, and jump into them, rolling, laughing and screeching.

It has certainly been fun. 🙂  No, that isn’t actually a picture of our hill. I will post one soon, though.

So, I am finally at 30k, two weeks late.  I think I may have finally broken through the issue I was having, so we’ll see where it goes. 🙂  And my goal for the week? Hit 40k!

 

What fun fall things are you doing?  Now that it’s Monday again, what are your goals for the week?  How can we support each other in meeting them?

About breeanaputtroff

Writer, teacher, chatter, mom, indie, fun-loving, eclectic!

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Daily Writing Progress, Dusk Gate, Dusk Gate Book Two, Word Count, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Aww, I miss playing in leaves. But there are no kids around anymore to do that with and I can just see the expressions on the faces of people who drive by if I played in them by myself. 🙂

    Breeana…I wish you could see what everyone else can see. That you’re doing amazingly (I wish there were italics in comments because I would have used it here) well for a new writer. What you’ve accomplished in 10 months is incredible! One and a half books, a publishing company….I, for one, am very impressed!

    • I don’t know, Kristy … it might be a whole lot of fun to see the expressions on the drivers’ faces if you played in them by yourself. And then you could wonder how many of them secretly went home and did the same thing themselves.

      And thank you so very much. You don’t even know how much it means to me to have people like you in my corner, cheering me on.

  2. Well, I completely understand that it is easy to get stuck in the middle. I think I got stuck 6 times, and am currently stuck again. My story is all from one view point, but if yours is not, I find switching view points the best way to get unstuck. Sometimes you need to see your characters through a different set of eyes, and then the answer presents itself.

    Deadlines are good for keeping you working, but don’t let them crush you! I find worrying about mine (11.11.11) is starting to bum me out.

    • Thanks so much. Yeah, the middle is often my nemesis. 🙂 I am using multiple povs, and changing them up does help a bit.

      Oooh… I never even thought about 11.11.11 as a deadline…. Here’s hoping that I’m too far away from done to even contemplate something like that. LOL Best of luck with yours, though. I hope you finish AND enjoy the process!

  3. I was listening to a podcast (I Should Be Writing) and she suggested “Beginnings, Middles and Ends” by Nancy Kress. I bought it (it is really cheap) and it definitely helped me out a few times.

    Yeah well I am pretty close to the end. So my deadline feels possible. I’m not sure about probable though.

  4. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ll have to check it out. I’m blowing magic writing dust your way in hopes that you meet your deadline. 🙂 Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

