Daily Writing Progress, Week Three: Monday

Well, last week was definitely more productive than the week before. Perhaps if I can continue the trend, I’ll get somewhere. πŸ™‚

Grand total words for week two: 8,100

Week one was 6,341. So, definite improvement, but still not to my 10k goal. Still going to stick to that 10k goal and see where I can get with that, but I will be pretty happy if I can at least break 30k words this week.

The story is progressing nicely; some fun things have started happening. In the scenes I’ve been working on for the last couple of days, Quinn has been showing a side of her personality that I haven’t seen much of before. Thomas is … Thomas. He doesn’t know how to even pretend to be anybody else, and I love him for that. I can’t wait to see what happens this week.

Book Two progress so far: 21,883 words. Onward!

Since today marks the beginning of a new week, work-wise, anyway, what are YOUR goals this week? Writing, personal, or anything else counts!

About breeanaputtroff

Writer, teacher, chatter, mom, indie, fun-loving, eclectic!

Posted on October 10, 2011, in Daily Writing Progress, Dusk Gate, Dusk Gate Book Two, Word Count, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Don’t be too hard on yourself, Breeana. You’re still settling into a new place, plus you had the book release/house warming party. You’re doing really well! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Kristy, I know it’s going well. πŸ™‚ You have to remember that I’ve spent the last eleven years as a classroom teacher. It’s now in my nature to set excruciatingly high goals and then dwell only on not meeting them… NO EXCUSES. LOL. It doesn’t matter that the kid died in the middle of the test … what did you fail to do that he didn’t pass? πŸ˜‰

  2. I’ve always loved the quote that says, “Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you’ll land among the stars.” So setting really high goals can be a good thing. Better to overshoot and miss by a bit than to aim to low and meet the goal.

    My goal this week is going to be low. A thousand words a day and plot out what I want to do for the NaNoWriMo challenge next month. I’d try more but I have some walls to spackle (thanks to a cat that should have had his claws removed. Then it’s painting three rooms before Saturday and HOPEFULLY getting the handyman to get his butt over here to enlarge my pantry and put my storage cupboard in.

    How’s that for excruciatingly high goal setting, lol. I expect to miss my mark in a spectacular way! πŸ™‚

    • That is definitely not a low goal! 1k a day is tough, believe me, I know! Especially when you have something else going on. Anything else. Sleeping, dishes, laundry… LOL

      I’ve thought about doing NaNoWriMo, but right now I think I have to stay on track with what I’m doing. Unless I get super ambitious and finish the rough draft of Book Two in October, and try Book Three for NaNoWriMo before I edit Book Two. (Yeah, right).

      Here’s to spectacularly missing marks (and having fun in the process!)

Leave a Reply

