Book Release Party

Today was the “official” Book Release Party for Seeds of Discovery: Dusk Gate Chronicles Book One, and I have to say, I have the best family, friends, and readers in the world, and I feel truly blessed. Β Thank you so, so much to the wonderful people who came to celebrate with me over the book (and my housewarming and Little Goose’s (excessively belated) Fourth Birthday). Words cannot express how much I love and appreciate you.

So, it’s 9:43 P.M., and needless to say, I haven’t gotten any writing done today. I do hope to snag a few more words between now and when Little Goose either gets tired of playing with her new fairy costume, puzzle, and Color Wonder Markers, or when she starts throwing up from the 1,000 grams of sugar she ingested today.

Writing Progress – Week Two: Saturday

How many words did I write yesterday? 576 – Yeah, so a little distracted with party preparations, and then we spent the evening building a Playmobil school with my sweet nephew, Monty, and my dad, who makes an awesome “Papa.”

How many words have I written this week? 5,617 – Eh. πŸ˜‰

Book Two progress so far: 19,350 – Yup, still have not hit the 20k mark.

How are you doing with your goals this week?

About breeanaputtroff

Writer, teacher, chatter, mom, indie, fun-loving, eclectic!

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Daily Writing Progress, Dusk Gate, Dusk Gate Book Two, Family, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. 19,350 words.. woo hoo! πŸ˜€ Way to go!
    It’s okay to take a little break from writing to deal with life stuff! We gotta enjoy the wonderful things, events and happenings in our lives.. πŸ™‚
    Congrats on your Book Release Party and Little Goose’s Fourth Birthday.. πŸ™‚

    You seem to be cruising along quite nicely:)

    Darlene

  2. Thank you so much, Darlene. Having support and people to share the journey with means the world to me. πŸ™‚ Thanks for being one of those people.
    Some days I feel like I’m never going to get this book finished, and I have to remind myself that I AM making progress.
    And it WAS a fantastic day, and fun to take some time to celebrate — worth a little detour, I suppose. πŸ™‚

  3. Busy…and exciting…weekend for you! I hope your party was everything you deserved, Breeana. πŸ™‚

    And don’t feel bad about the lack of progress you think you’re making (or not making, lol). In just over 9 months you’ve written, and PUBLISHED, a novel! And you’re already almost a third of the way done with one of the sequels. I’d say you’re doing extremely well this year. You deserve to have a pat on the back for all you’ve accomplished, not beat yourself up because of what you didn’t get done.

    • You’re right, Kristy. And thank you so very much for definitively being one of the people in my corner. If you lived anywhere near by, it would have been nice to have you here today. πŸ™‚

      I’m not trying to beat myself up. It’s more about experimenting with maintaining an honest, nitty-gritty record of this process of writing the second book. Someday, if I ever manage to finish this one, hopefully I can come back and look at these posts for encouragement when I’m writing the third book. LOL Seeing and knowing about the bumps in the road, and celebrating the successes. I really would love to hit a goal sometime of 10,000 words in a single week. We’ll see how it goes, though. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

