Daily Writing Progress, Week One: Saturday

Thanks to those who have joined me on this adventure of tracking my writing goals as I write Book Two in the Dusk Gate Chronicles. 🙂

How many words did I write yesterday? 599 – Bleh. 😦  It was a Friday, and I spent the early part of the day getting puked on (at the Children’s Museum, no less) by a cute baby. And I spent the evening enjoying dinner with friends and then going to the bookstore and having a movie night with a dear friend.  These things are important, too.  Still – not where I wanted to get.

Today’s beginning word count: 10,645

On the plus side, in those 599 words I managed yesterday, I *did* solve some of the scene issues I had been having, and I think I like the direction it’s going. Beta readers – it’ll be posted as soon as I post this blog. Let me know what you think. Of course, this is all still just rough draft!

Words written this week (M-Sat.): 3,253 Yeah, so, time to get writing. 🙂

About breeanaputtroff

Writer, teacher, chatter, mom, indie, fun-loving, eclectic!

Posted on October 1, 2011, in Daily Writing Progress, Dusk Gate, Dusk Gate Book Two, Word Count, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Beta reader ready to read the next installment! 🙂

  2. Ready here, too. You’re making great progress, Breeana! I’ve managed to get about 2300 words this WEEK, which is good for me but I’m not as consistent as you are. And since you don’t know anything about what I’m writing now, and I DO know what you’re writing….I’m glad you’re more consistent than I am….because I want to know what happens next! 🙂

  3. 🙂 It’s posted on the Google Doc, should have gone out to both of you guys today. I am making some progress, it’s true. I’m just trying to get myself back into the “magic zone.” Somewhere right around 1k/day, the story starts writing itself. Entire scenes just appear on the screen before my eyes, and then I go back and read it, cringing and expecting the worst, and it’s actually interesting. LOL. Less than that, and I have to plod through every sentence of every scene – and what comes out is not as good.

Leave a Reply

