Momentum Might Be Returning…

Sometime in June (I can’t find the card atm), I set a goal for myself of 1,000 words a day, no excuses.  When I first sit down to begin writing each day, I write the date on an index card, and the number of words currently in my manuscript. Once I reach 1,000 words more, I get to put a little star next to the number. On the rare occasion I write 2,000, I get to put a second star.  If I go over, that’s awesome, but it doesn’t count toward the next day. Later, if my word count reaches what it should have reached by a certain time, I can put a checkmark on the day I missed, but the opportunity for a star is lost.

Silly, I know.  But the system of goal-setting worked miracles for my momentum, and I finished the rough draft of my manuscript for Dusk Gate on July 16. My writing is definitely at its best when I’m writing at a speed of at least 1k a day… that’s when the magic starts happening, and my characters take over and make decisions for themselves. (Yes, I am a lunatic, why do you ask?)
After the sixteenth, I got wrapped up in revisions and edits and beta-readings, and website building, and lost my momentum for continuing the story in Book Two. By the end of July, I had only 596 words of it written.
So I started fresh on August 1. Dutifully wrote down 596, and tried to write. Didn’t make it. August 2 started at 904, tried to write. Didn’t happen. August  3 and I’m finally getting somewhere.  I started the day at 1,430, and I’m currently at 3,767.  That’s two stars, and two checkmarks.  I’m crossing my fingers that this means the momentum is back!
About breeanaputtroff

Writer, teacher, chatter, mom, indie, fun-loving, eclectic!

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Blogging, Dusk Gate, Editing, Word Count, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

