It’s November….

Yes, I realize I’m a bit behind the times. Definitely had an off-week (or two!) in terms of posting and writing. Strep has been circulating in our little house, and I’m pretty sure it finally hit me yesterday. With a tired and cranky Little Goose who is already going through this lovely four-year-old phase of arguing and whining about EVERYTHING, I haven’t gotten much accomplished. :)

 

So, rather than coming up with some fever-induced topic, I thought I would share one of my favorite “November” books.

In November, by Cynthia Rylant

 

 

I have read this book to my second graders every year for the last several, this year I’m sharing it with my daughter and the preschoolers I teach at home.

This is a beautiful, richly illustrated book about the quiet magic of this time of year. The images Cynthia Rylant creates in the minds of her readers are priceless, and Kastner’s illustrations are perfect.

“In November, the trees are all standing sticks and bones. Without their leaves, how lovely they are, spreading their arms like dancers. They know it is time to be still.” (p. 8)

If you happen to be a teacher, this book is a must for your classroom library (as are most of Rylant’s books). It’s also perfect for sharing with your little ones at bedtime if you’re a parent, and if you’re a writer, you should own it purely to study the craft of Rylant’s descriptions and the soft emotions she evokes with her words.

 

And … for those who are curious. :)

Book Two progress so far: 44,143

I very much want to break 50k this week!

About breeanaputtroff

Writer, teacher, chatter, mom, indie, fun-loving, eclectic!

Posted on November 8, 2011, in Book Review, Word Count, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. The cover illustration of that book is gorgeous….I love little creatures. Good luck with your writing (and strep….ugh, I catch that so easily myself).

    • Thanks so much, Jill. Strep is definitely the worst. It’s been several years since the last time I caught it… the price of switching to working with younger kids, I guess. :(

      And yes, the cover illustration is amazing. The whole book is the same way. Beautiful all around.

  2. Aww. I wish my kids were still small enough to enjoy something like this. But my son is only into weird stuff I can’t remember the name of, and my daughter is crazy for The Morganville Vampires and the Twilight series (as well as a couple other vampire/werewolf series). I think they’d have loved this book!

    I sure don’t envy you the strep throat. I had it about ten years ago, tried to self-treat it, and wound up losing my voice for a month or so-over Thanksgiving and Christmas). One of my brothers said it must be like a present to my family (lucky HE didn’t wind up with a fat lip, lol).

    Feel better soon! And not just because I want you to finish the second book NOW. :)

    • LOL. I want to finish the second book NOW, too! :) Scenes from the third book are starting to creep up on me.

      Even without little kids, it’s a book worth checking out … beautiful description with a tightly controlled economy of words. Gorgeous. :) But then, I’ve always enjoyed Cynthia Rylant.

      Too funny about your brother. I’d have liked to have seen that. I hope I don’t lose my voice. Of course, maybe if I did I’d have an easier time remembering that it’s less than productive to yell back at a four-year-old. Oops. :(

  3. You can do it Breeana, 50K is on its way! (Maybe you already have made it, I’m so behind)

    No fun though when you are sick. I hope your little household is all healed!

    I just hit the 80 mark on the third one. Hope to get it around 88-90. It has been slow going lately, but at least it is going.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,952 other followers

